Aug 11, 2015 by Sci-News.com

A team of astronomers from Israel, Europe, Korea and the United States has announced the discovery of a circumbinary gas giant in the habitable zone of...

Jul 23, 2015 by Sci-News.com

Using NASA’s Kepler Space Telescope, astronomers have discovered a super-Earth exoplanet in the ‘habitable zone’ of a G2-type star called Kepler-452. This...

Jul 14, 2015 by Sci-News.com

NASA’s New Horizons will complete a close flyby of Pluto today at 7:49 a.m. EST (4:49 a.m. PST, 11:49 a.m. GMT, 1:49 p.m. CET, 5:19 p.m. IST, 9:49 p.m....

Jun 30, 2015 by Sci-News.com

A multinational team of astronomers has determined precise ages and other fundamental properties of 33 Kepler stars with the so-called ‘solar-like oscillations.’...

Jun 18, 2015 by Sci-News.com

Astronomers using data from NASA’s Kepler mission have determined the sizes and masses of three planets orbiting a star much fainter and cooler than...

Jun 2, 2015 by Sci-News.com

According to a team of astronomers at Aarhus University in Denmark, Earth-sized terrestrial planets orbit their host stars in circular patterns, much like...

May 13, 2015 by Sci-News.com

Astronomers using data collected by NASA’s Kepler Space Telescope have found evidence of daily weather cycles on fourteen extrasolar gas giants. An artist’s...

May 4, 2015 by Sci-News.com

A group of astronomers led by Benjamin Montet of the California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, has discovered a highly irradiated mini-Neptune exoplanet...

Apr 23, 2015 by Sci-News.com

NASA’s Nexus for Exoplanet System Science (NExSS) initiative will bring together top research groups and will provide a synthesized approach in the search...

Feb 12, 2015 by Sci-News.com

Using data from NASA’s Kepler mission, two teams of astronomers, led by Mauricio Ortiz from the University of Heidelberg and Simona Ciceri of the...

Feb 6, 2015 by Sci-News.com

A group of researchers from Australia and Denmark led by Dr Charley Lineweaver of the Australian National University has calculated that there are hundreds...

Jan 27, 2015 by Sci-News.com

An international team of astronomers headed by Dr Tiago Campante of the University of Birmingham’s School of Physics and Astronomy, UK, has discovered...

Jan 17, 2015 by Sci-News.com

An international group of astronomers using NASA’s Kepler Space Telescope has discovered three so-called super-Earth exoplanets orbiting a red dwarf...

Jan 8, 2015 by Sci-News.com

An international team of astronomers led by Dr Guillermo Torres of the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics has discovered eight new extrasolar...

Dec 19, 2014 by Sci-News.com

An international team of astronomers using NASA’s Kepler space telescope has discovered a new exoplanet, named HIP 116454b. This artistic impression...

Sep 24, 2014 by Sci-News.com

A team of astronomers from the United States, Chile and Europe has detected water vapor in the atmosphere of a Neptune-sized extrasolar planet known as...

Jul 22, 2014 by Sci-News.com

A year on the newly discovered Uranus-sized exoplanet Kepler-421b lasts for 704.2 days, making it the longest orbital period exoplanet yet found. Its parent...

Jun 3, 2014 by Sci-News.com

Extrasolar planets can be divided into three types: terrestrials, gas giants, and mid-sized gas dwarfs – planets between about one and four times...

Jun 2, 2014 by Sci-News.com

Astronomers using the HARPS-North instrument on the Telescopio Nazionale Galileo in the Canary Islands have found that the extrasolar planet Kepler-10c,...

Apr 18, 2014 by Sci-News.com

A large team of astronomers has announced the discovery of an Earth-sized exoplanet orbiting within the habitable zone of Kepler-186. This artistic concept...